The European Calcified Tissue Society aims to encourage high-quality research.  ECTS supports New Investigators, nurses and Allied Health Professionals (AHPs) by offering a number of awards related to submission of an abstract for the ECTS 2022 Congress.  These grants and awards are designed to recognise and stimulate outstanding research in the field of calcified tissues and related disciplines.

How to apply

  • Applications can only be made during the online abstract submission process, closing on 11 January 2022, 23:59 CET.
  • In the abstract submission form, tick on the appropriate award you are applying
  • Make sure that the name of the presenting author matches with the name of the applicant
  • Upload during the abstract submission a proof of eligibility: a letter signed by the head of the department on the department’s letterhead confirming that you meet the eligibility criteria (such as professional status, age,…).

ECTS – ICCBH New Investigator Award

ICCBH is pleased to offer up to 4 grants of €750 each for the highest scoring abstracts submitted by new investigators in the category of “Paediatric bone diseases” or “Rare bone disease”.

Available to applicants who satisfy the following criteria:

  • The applicant is first or presenting author
  • The applicant is within three years of attaining a PhD, or is a physician in training, or is aged under 35 years at the time of the application
  • The abstract must be submitted to the category “Paediatric bone disease” or “Rare bone disease”


ECTS Travel Awards


€ 300,- per award

ECTS is pleased to offer grants of €300 each for the highest scoring abstracts submitted by new investigators to ECTS 2022.

The following awards will be announced during the 2022 ECTS Congress

 Please refer to the ECTS website for further details on the nomination process.

ECTS Excellence in Research Award:

The ECTS Annual Congress is recognized world-wide for the excellent quality of its scientific programme. Each year top international experts are invited to present state-of-the-art lectures on new developments in musculoskeletal research. With the ECTS Excellence in Research Award ECTS recognizes scientists who substantially advanced the field of musculoskeletal research. The recipient of the award is selected by the ECTS Board of Directors from the group of invited speakers of the ECTS Annual Congress.

ECTS Steven Boonen Clinical Research Award:

In memory of Professor Steven Boonen, who sadly passed away during the ECTS 50th Anniversary Congress in Lisbon on 20 May 2013. ECTS would like to remember and honour Steven during its annual congress by introducing an annual Steven Boonen Clinical Research Award, supported by Amgen.

ECTS Mike Horton Basic/Translational Award:

Professor Mike Horton (1948-2010) was a hematologist-turned-basic scientist who made significant contributions in the bone field and beyond. He performed pioneering work in osteoclast biology which resulted, among other things, in the recognition of the alpha v beta 3 integrin as a therapeutic target for inhibiting bone resorption. His warm personality and wide-ranging interests inspired many young researchers. The award will be announced during the ECTS annual congress.

ECTS Iain T Boyle Award:

In memory of Professor Iain T Boyle (1935–2001) who contributed greatly to the field of mineral metabolism and his work on osteoporosis was known and acclaimed nationally and internationally. The award is open to young scientists who have made significant progress and contribution to the field of bone and calcified tissue. The award will be announced during the ECTS annual congress.

ECTS Philippe Bordier Clinical Award:

Doctor Philippe Bordier (1927-1977) contributed significantly to the bone field by developing bone histomorphometry, which he applied to the analysis of several bone diseases. His work and dynamism in science has been recognised in Europe and United States. The award will be announced during the ECTS annual congress.